Plan Advice
← Back to Plan Advice

Clarence Valley Council — Development Application Data

A live snapshot of development activity in Clarence Valley Council — sourced from NSW Government open data and the 413,770-DA Plan Advice corpus. Refreshed automatically. Data reflects the most recent NSW Planning Portal open-data feeds, counted application by application.

DAs on file
5,711
Since 2021
Lodged last 12m
672
Median assessment
50 days
Clause 4.6 rate
3.3%
Development standard variations

How long a DA takes in Clarence Valley Council, and who decides it

Counted from every application Clarence Valley Council determined in the last 5 years, as published in the NSW Planning Portal open data. Timelines are lodgement to determination, so they include the time spent waiting on the applicant.

Median determination
50 days
across 3,966 determinations
Slowest 20% take
124+ days
the figure worth planning around
Against NSW
-10 days
the NSW median is 60 days
Approved as CDC
12.4%
577 complying development certificates
Who determines applications here
Council (delegation not specified)93.8% · 3,766
Council staff under delegation5.2% · 209

An application determined under delegation is decided by the assessing officer. Anything referred to a panel or the elected body is decided in a public meeting and adds a meeting cycle to the timeline. Where the council recorded only “Council” it did not say which, so that row is left as published.

3.4% of applications in Clarence Valley Council sought a clause 4.6 variation to a development standard, and 30.9% of those variations were granted (43 of 139). 3.1% of DAs lodged were withdrawn before a determination was made. On the CDC side, 37.1% of certificates lodged were rejected rather than accepted, at an average declared cost of $328,896.

Development type mix

What people are building in Clarence Valley Council. Ranked by DA volume.

Erection of a new structure1,410
Shed1,042
Dwelling1,010
Dwelling house835
Alterations or additions to an existing building or structure699
Pools / decks / fencing464
Alterations and additions to residential development347
Garages, carports and car parking spaces299

Development cost distribution

Estimated development cost ranges reported on Clarence Valley Council DAs.

Under $100k3,187
$100k – $500k1,651
$500k – $1M599
$1M – $5M181
$5M+55

Clarence Valley Council DAs — common questions

Answered from this council's own determinations. Where a council has not published a figure, the question is left out rather than guessed.

How many development applications does Clarence Valley Council handle?

Plan Advice holds 5,711 development applications for Clarence Valley Council, 672 of them lodged in the last 12 months. The figures on this page are counted from that register, not estimated.

How long does a DA take in Clarence Valley Council?

The median assessment time is 50 days. That is the council's own reported figure from the NSW Planning Portal league tables, so it covers every DA they determined — not a sample.

How long does the council take to determine a DA in Clarence Valley Council?

The median is 50 days from lodgement to determination across 3,966 applications determined in the last 5 years, and the slowest fifth take 124 days or more. The NSW median is 60 days. Counted from the NSW Planning Portal open data, so it covers every application — not a sample.

Who decides development applications in Clarence Valley Council?

5.2% of determinations were made by council staff under delegated authority. council (delegation not specified) determined 93.8%. Anything referred to a panel or the elected body is decided in a public meeting, which adds a meeting cycle.

Does Clarence Valley Council approve clause 4.6 variations?

3.4% of applications sought a variation to a development standard, and 30.9% of those were granted (43 of 139 in the last 5 years).

Can I use a CDC instead of a DA in Clarence Valley Council?

12.4% of approvals in this LGA went through as complying development (577 certificates in the last 5 years), and 37.1% of CDC applications lodged were rejected rather than accepted. A CDC only applies if the proposal meets every development standard in the Codes SEPP.

What kinds of development are most common in Clarence Valley Council?

The most frequent application types are erection of a new structure (1,410), shed (1,042), dwelling (1,010).

How often is a clause 4.6 variation used in Clarence Valley Council?

186 applications — 3.26% of the register — sought a clause 4.6 variation to a development standard.

Most recent development applications

Sampled from the NSW Planning Portal open-data feed.

PAN-676466
14 KING PARROT PARADE GULMARRAD 2463
Shed · lodged 2026-09-17
$36,315
PAN-676410
71 HIGH STREET LAWRENCE 2460
Dwelling house · lodged 2026-09-17
$142,507
PAN-676126
17 SHADYBOWER DRIVE JUNCTION HILL 2460
Alterations or additions to an existing building or structure · lodged 2026-09-17
$51,623
PAN-676032
282 SEELANDS HALL ROAD SEELANDS 2460
Secondary dwelling · lodged 2026-09-17
$59,500
PAN-675994
100 LOWER COLDSTREAM ROAD COWPER 2460
Dwelling house · lodged 2026-09-17
$245,000
Assessing a property in Clarence Valley Council?

Get a free, instant AI-powered analysis of your property's zoning, planning controls and likely DA outcome — grounded in Plan Advice's 413,770-DA NSW corpus.

Start free assessment →
Nearby councils: cobar · coffs harbour · coolamon · coonamble · cootamundra gundagai · city of sydney · cowra · cumberland · dubbo · dungog · edward river · eurobodalla — or see DA statistics for all 129 NSW councils.